Sign in to follow this  
lazydazy

ad-aware 2007

i'm new to this. maybe somebody can help me out. first of all, i've been running an outdated version of ad aware. i have not been able to update since early december. so i decided to download a newer version. after downloading the newest free version i get an error message telling me aaw2007exe is not a valid Win32. so at the moment my computer is unprotected. is any body have any ideas what i can do to get the download up and running? thanks

Hi latzdazy,

i get an error message telling me aaw2007exe is not a valid Win32

You have not said what your OS is - ie: XP, Vista-32, Vista-64 etc.

Depending on your OS, please follow these steps:

For Windows 2000 or XP:

Go to "Start > Programs > Accessories" and click on Command Prompt

Type cd C:\Windows\System32 then hit Enter

Type regsvr32 vbscript.dll then hit Enter - You should get a "successful" message, as per these screenshots:

XP_Cmd_prompt_Regsvr_0.gif

XP_Cmd_prompt_Regsvr_1.gif

XP_Cmd_prompt_Regsvr_2.gif

At this time, AAW2007 is only compatible with Vista-32 (support for Vista-64 is due out shortly) - I have included instructions for Vista-64, even though this may not help at this time:

1. From the Windows Vista default Start menu, right-click Computer, and then click Properties.

2. Click Advanced system settings.

3. In the User Account Control dialog box, click Continue.

4. In the Advanced window, in the Performance section, click Settings.

5. In the Performance Options window, click the Data Execution Protection tab.

6. If DEP is turned on for all programs, add Ad-Aware 2007 to the exception list (and, if you are a paying customer Ad-Watch, Host File Editor and Process Watch).

For Vista 32:

Start Menu -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Right Click on Command Prompt -> Run As Administrator.

Type cd C:\Windows\System32 then Enter

Type regsvr32 vbscript.dll then hit Enter

If you don't do Run as Administrator, the regsvr32 will fail.