Sign in to follow this  
John M65

Ad-Aware Licensing problem

Question

Where do I start? I have been using Ad-Aware since probably 2004/5 (the free versions). I believe when version 8 or 9 came out I started licensing the full version, two licenses one desktop and one laptop. I was a beta tester for version 11 and when testing was complete I installed the production version on my laptop and desktop. Both licenses were scheduled to expire 2017-06-23.

Fast forward to April this year my laptop hard drive went to the hard drive graveyard. So I had to rebuild; fortunately, we have Carbonite for our backup so getting back to normal took a few days (longer to get the games back.) The first thing I did was to reinstall Ad-Aware and activate with our key. All appeared to be working correctly.

About June 8, 2015 I start receiving a message that Ad-aware was going to expire in 25 days…???? :angry2: What! Refer to expire date above! I checked the App section and sure enough was going to the end of June! I checked the desktop and the expiration date was correct, 2017. I checked Ad-Adware’s online licenses and I was amazed that my current license was not shown. Now I was really confused. As an aside the licensing section defies logic!

I sent an e-mail to support inquiring about this issue. They responded with a statement that I only have one license expiring in 2017 and asked for an order number. I search but could not find one. The support staff responded with a list of license keys with expiration dates that I have received.

BUT the license I was using was not among them! When I ask why in 2 emails I did not receive a response. They finally indicated that they have not record of my key (s) they found another one. They sent me an email with a telephone number to call for support, I thought it was Ad-Aware support, was that a mistake.